VIDEO: San Diego Symphony’s “Luscious Noise” extravaganza returns to Anthology on Aug. 25

Wednesday, August 18, 2010 21:19

SAN DIEGO — Members of the San Diego Symphony are suiting up for a “Luscious Noise” summer showcase at Anthology on Wednesday, Aug. 25.

Catch the wave of the future in live classical music and sip a mai tai or a kamikazi while experiencing a riptide of new flavors created by Anthology’s new executive chef Todd Allison.

Conductor/producer John Stubbs and symphony musicians hope to sweep the audience away with a new “Luscious Noise” summer medley and a multimedia display that will heat up the screen. Stubbs says he is trying to prove that classical music sounds just as good in a nightclub as a symphony hall.

Production highlights will include:

– Pianist Jessie Chang performing in Strauss’s “Violin Sonata”

– Harpist Julie Smith performing Marcel Tournier’s “Sonatine” from Opus 30

– Trombonist Kyle Ross Covington performing Leonard Bernstein’s “Elegy for Mippy II”

– Percussionist Jason Ginter performing “When Love Prevails” on marimba by David Burge; along with dancers Amanda Daly and Rebecca Correia who will perform a live modern dance piece

Other music selections will include:

– Vivaldi’s “Summer” from “The Four Seasons”

– Adagietto from Symphony 5 by Gustav Mahler

– First movement of “Sinfonie IX” by Mendelssohn

– A string sextet from Strauss’s “Capriccio” followed by a video excerpt from the opera

The multimedia portion of the show features:

– A video clip from Hiroshi Teshigahara’s “Woman in the Dunes” with music by Toru Takemitsu

– Natalie Dessay singing recitative (melodic speech in opera) from Strauss’s “Ariadne auf Naxos”

— An excerpt from the 1955 film “Picnic” with Kim Novak and William Holden

“Luscious Noise” will begin at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 25, at Anthology, 1337 India St., San Diego. Tickets are $10 to $20. Call (619) 595.0300 or visit